This is possibly going to be the most controversial of all my choices because some would argue it isn’t truly a comedy. But its hilarious on so many levels and Whoopi Goldberg deserved her Oscar in every way. I should point out I’m not the biggest fan of comedies. They tend to be in my experience poorly made and often a lot lacking. A great comedy is about as rare as a great horror movie, like a black man at a KKK party my friends. Anyway, its a great movie and one that I have been watching virtually my whole life – and I can guarantee you my kids will too. And I can’t think of a better tribute to the wonderful Patrick Swayze. Long may his movies live on.

Best line in the movie!

The shear genius of ghost is I don’t really think there are many movies with a similar concept. Not necessarily the concept of someone being a ghost and staying put on earth, but more the character they chose when they chose Oda Mae. They could have gone for an old white gypsy (or traveller to be P.C.) stereotypical fortune teller/psychic lady. Or they could have gone for anyone of an older age who you’d probably expect in such a role. But they chose a thirty something, African american, money driven female who was faking and was as surprised as everyone else to find she’s psychic! It was a statement about the class and race in the early nineties and Whoopi’s portrayal of Oda Mae is so nailed on that she is without a doubt one of my favourite characters in a movie ever. Patrick is so likable and relatable in this movie, and his on screen chemistry with Whoopi sizzles so much it outshines anything coming from Demi Moore as Swayze’s mourning girl friend.

Overall, its just a great movie, and one that always cheers me up.

Edit: Just found the full movie on youtube as well if your interested. In one part too so you have absolutely no excuse not to watch it! 

Comments
  1. Megan says:

    How does it cheer you up? I always cry at it!

Leave a Reply

