It’s part 2 of the “you better abide by my TV guide” series, meaning today I will be looking at all the TV shows I will be watching over the coming weeks. All of which are of particular interest if you a) hate sport or b) live in the USA and already miss your fall TV.

First up, we have True Blood; Sundays HBO at 10.

Source: Entertainment weekly.

Christopher Meloni on True Blood
Source – Entertainment Weekly

I’m a firm believer that if it’s on HBO, it deserves at least a look. We’re talking the channel that brought us the Sopranos, Sex and the City and Game of Thrones. That’s bucket loads of quality right there. And while I wouldn’t tar True Blood with the same brush as it’s channel pals, it is still miles ahead of the competition.

Into its fifth series, it’s coming off the back of a disappointing season filled with too many witches, not enough Sookie and an anti-climactic end to Sookie’s origins. But the show runners have brought in SVU super lead Christopher Meloni to spruce up the cast, plus the return of the outstanding (and my personal favourite) Russell Edgington – that alone will keep me watching. And I am hoping he turns up sooner rather than later…

If you’ve not caught True Blood, purchase season 1 immediately if you like your vampires sexy and dangerous and not like they’ve just swallowed some pledge. Anyway, check it out and enjoy!

Next up is the BBC drama Silk; iPlayer

Silk is the most fun I’ve ever had (with a TV…) while being utterly clueless about what is going on. It’s a British legal drama following two barristers trying to get silk – a prestigious level among the justice system that takes years to achieve. Confused? Well to be honest, I don’t really get it either. I find myself watching long periods of legal mumbo jumbo with no clue whether the leads of the show are doing well, with just each characters reactions to gauge the plot. But that’s doesn’t matter. I don’t watch silk as it would probably help me pass the bar, I watch it because it’s the most honest look at any legal system I have ever come across.

Being a big time Law and Order fan, it takes a lot for me to enjoy other legal dramas because no show quite weaves and ducks like L&O. It makes you question things you thought were simple lines of the moral code. And it is the true embodiment of the fact that life is never black and white.

BBC’s Silk – Source: The Telegraph.

Silk however shows that our legal system really isn’t about right or wrong. In fact, that couldn’t be more untrue. Instead, the law, and justice is much more about how wealthy you are; how good your barrister is; and the roll of the die when it comes to the jury. We can kid ourselves into thinking it is about justice, but so often the courts are a far more shady affair.

Week in, week out Silk shows that. And shows the politics involved in every case. It is horrible to imagine yourself in the dock, accused of a crime. But it is even more distressing to realise that in our county – the most important factor isn’t whether or not you did it.

Finally, a very different Crime drama – Rizzoli and Isles; Tuesday’s, TNT.

Jane and Maura's first meeting.

Jane and Maura’s first meeting.

If you have ever waded through my blog posts, you would already know I love this show. Its not only my favourite Summer show, it’s one of my favourite shows full stop. Funny, well written, heart wrenching and with a stellar cast, Rizzoli and Isles follows two best friends as they solve homicides, one being a detective and the other the chief medical examiner.

The thing I like the most about this show is the humour. It makes me laugh equally as much as Family Guy and the Big bang – which, given it is a drama is über impressive. The chemistry between Angie Harmon and Sasha Alexander as the two leads sizzles (enough to get a considerable lesbian following) and the amazing use of Lorraine Braco as Rizzoli’s mum makes this the perfect show. If you like your crime dramas with a bit of sass then look no further (except if you’ve never experienced Veronica Mars…).

 

Leave a Reply

